Money Smart Nebraska programming to be offered at Omaha Public Library

March 31st, 2015

Money Smart Nebraska programming to be offered at Omaha Public Library

Being smart about money isn’t always easy. Staying smart about money can be even more of a challenge. Omaha Public Library and other area organizations and experts are teaming together April 13-28 to present Money Smart programs. A variety of free classes and events will be offered to help consumers learn to manage their personal finances. All programs are open to the public, but space is limited. Register online at, or by calling the branch where you wish to attend.

Life Insurance 101: Lifetime Financial Group will discuss the types of insurance, advantages and disadvantages of each, the many living benefits available and their uses, and death benefits.
Mondays, April 13 & 20, 6 p.m. at Millard Branch, 13214 Westwood Ln., 402.444.4848

Successful Meal Planning: Learn how to construct a meal plan that is best for your family. Use the recipes you already cook, add some new ones, and make a plan for at least one week of meals. Minimize food waste by learning how to preserve your fresh produce and food, and spend less time in the kitchen with time-saving cooking tips. Also, learn how to use store sales and seasonal specials to save time and money.
Saturday, April 18, 1 p.m. at Benson Branch, 6015 Binney St., 402.444.4846

Budgeting and Credit Tips: Learn tips about personal budgeting, as well as how to interpret credit scores and reports. Presented by First National Bank.
Monday, April 20, noon at W. Dale Clark Main Library, 215 S. 15th St., 402.444.4800

Mortgages for New Home Buyers: Tailored to first-time home buyers, this session will discuss possible benefits and incentives available, and help you learn about mortgages. Presented by First National Bank.
Tuesday, April 21, 6 p.m. at W. Dale Clark Main Library

Make your own money-saver box: Build and decorate your own wooden money-saving box. Use it to store and save your money you earn from chores, allowance and other places. Registration strongly encouraged. Limited to children ages 7-11. All supplies provided.
Thursday, April 23, 4:15 p.m. at Saddlebrook Branch, 14850 Laurel Ave., 402.884.7473

Couponing for Savings and Meal Planning: Beginners and experienced coupon users alike will learn all about coupons and finding the best deals. Topics will include how to shop for free using coupons, getting organized for maximizing savings at the grocery store (a step-by-step guide to planning your shopping trip with coupons), figuring out the drugstore game and scoring lots of freebies (detailed how-to guides), coupon anatomy and common abbreviations, stacking coupons, price matching and double coupon events, and where to find the best coupons.
Thursday, April 23, 7 p.m. at South Omaha Library, 2808 Q St., 402.444.4850

Freebie Couponing: Learn how to easily find free food, gift cards, new products, clothes, electronics, books, toys, and much more! Learn about “free offers” to avoid.
Tuesday, April 28, 5:30 p.m. at South Omaha Library

Money Smart Nebraska Week is coordinated by the Nebraska Financial Education Coalition, a non-profit coalition created to help Nebraskans of all ages improve their levels of financial literacy. For more information about Money Smart Nebraska Week, visit

Visit for more information about these and additional programs offered at Omaha Public Library’s 12 metro locations.

Kay Bashus – Outstanding Volunteer!

June 5th, 2014

Kay Bashus, FOPL Board member,

has a long history of volunteerism and advocacy

on behalf of the Omaha Public Library.

Read about Kay’s long and distinguished history of support for OPL

on page 5 of the Connect Newsletter at

2014 Virginia Frank Writing Contest

April 29th, 2014

The Virginia Frank Writing Contest

The Virginia Frank Writing Contest encourages original fiction writing skills of middle school students.
Their short stories feature Libraries or Librarians.

Virginia Frank was a UNO professor and strong supporter of the Friends of the Omaha Public Library. Dr. Frank volunteered countless hours and managed the Friends’ booksale for many years. The writing contest for young adults was named in her honor in 2005.

2014 Winners:

First place Winners
5th Grade – Elizabeth Grams
6th Grade – Grace Elizabeth Mattox
7th Grade – Will Rischling
8th Grade – Kassidy Hart

Second Place Winners
5th Grade – Vienne Kemper
6th Grade – Elena Palomino
7th Grade – Amirtha Arun
8th Grade – Jordan Palomino

Third Place Winners
5th Grade – Leilani Beaudoin
6th Grade – Alexa Carlson
7th Grade – Daniel Wood
8th Grade – Madeline McPeck


See for additional information!


Book Sales 2015!

January 31st, 2014

BookSaleMarketing2014 BookSaleMarketing2014